The Revere City Council of Massachusetts has passed a new short-term rental ordinance, which took effect July 1st, 2021.  This ordinance requires that all units of housing posted for short-term rental shall be registered with the city of Revere, Massachusetts, pending an inspection from an Inspector from the Office of Short-Term Rental.  Unregistered short-term rentals are subject to fines effective, September 1st.

Key Changes of the Short-Term Rental Ordinance 

The following are the key changes to the Short-Term Rental Ordinance: 

  • Annual registration is required for each unit rented.  The Office of Short-Term Rental will track down unregistered short-term rentals and after a brief warning period will fine $300/day for posted rentals that remain unregistered. 
  • Registration will require the following documentation:
    • Good Standing Check from the city to determine that no prior fees, fines, or taxes are due
    • A certificate of short-term rental from the state
    • A valid insurance binder of liability limits of no less than $250,000 per incident
  • Inspection will be required for all short-term rentals.  Owners should schedule inspections with both the Office of Short-Term Rental and the Fire Prevention Office. 
  • Inspection will be required annually, and Registration will be renewed each calendar year after inspection, effective by the end of January, with the first registration being valid through January 2023. 
  • Any unit rented for periods of less than 30 days qualify under the Short-Term Rental Ordinance. 
  • Short-term rentals may only rent to 2 persons per bedroom up to a maximum of 6 people total, exclusive of children under the age of 12. 
  • Short-term rentals may not be offered as a sublet from a renter. 
  • Commercial rentals are prohibited. 
  • Registrations must maintain accurate logs of renters for 3 years. 
  • The following do not qualify for short-term rental: 
    • Not either a primary residence or unit attached to a primary residence 
    • Deed restricted or section 8 funded units 
    • Units in condo or homeowner associations that prohibits short-term rentals 
    • Units in a calendar year that receive 3 or more violations of state code or municipal ordinance related to health, safety, sanitary conditions, excessive noise, improper trash disposal, or disorderly conduct 
    • Units who’s owner is delinquent in payment of local taxes, fines and fees 

Short-Term Rental Laws – Insurance Requirements   

The primary reason for an insurance requirement is to ensure that short-term rental owners are properly protected from injuries or property damage. 

Commercial general liability is found in business insurance policies and protects the insured against claims of bodily injury or property damage they could be found legally liable. It is the most comprehensive liability insurance one can purchase for short-term rentals. 

Additionally, when defining the “proof” of insurance, cities or counties can easily require a “certificate of insurance” which is a standardized form to show proof of insurance to various interested parties, including banks, mortgage lenders, or in this case, cities or counties requiring owners to provide proof of insurance to obtain a short-term rental certificate. 

Quote Your Short-Term Rental Today   

Interested in a policy to protect you and your business from liability and damage claims? Proper Insurance leads the Nation in short-term rental insurance, with over 50,000 policies written in all 50 states. Backed by Lloyd’s of London and exclusive endorsements from short-term rental leaders such as HomeAway and Vrbo, Proper Insurance is built on world-class insurance coverage that meets and exceeds both city and lender requirements. 

Quote Your Short-Term Vacation Rental Today